The Order of Mass

posted by Webmaster on November 6, 2023

Download this PDF document below

Introduction to The Order of Mass:

In the Roman Rite, the Mass is made up of two principal parts: the Liturgy of the Word and the Liturgy of the Eucharist. It begins with the Introductory Rites and ends with the Concluding Rites.

Another way of dividing a Mass is into its "ordinary" parts—those texts which, with some variations, are part of the Mass on a daily basis—and its "proper" parts—the texts of prayers and selection of Scripture readings proper to the specific feast, feria or other occasion being observed.

Below is the basic and common structure for the Order of Mass.

Introductory Rites:

  • Entrance
  • Greeting
  • Penitential Act
  • Glory to God
  • Collect

Liturgy of the Word:

  • First Reading
  • Responsorial Psalm
  • Second Reading (on Sundays and solemnities)
  • Gospel Acclamation
  • Gospel
  • Homily
  • Profession of Faith (on Sundays, solemnities, and special occasions)
  • Universal Prayer

Liturgy of the Eucharist:

  • Presentation of the Gifts and Preparation of the Altar
  • Prayer over the Offerings
  • Eucharistic Prayer
  • Preface
  • Holy, Holy, Holy
  • First half of prayer, including Consecration
  • Mystery of Faith
  • Second half of prayer, ending with Doxology
  • The Lord's Prayer
  • Sign of Peace
  • Lamb of God
  • Communion
  • Prayer after Communion

Concluding Rites:

  • Optional announcements
  • Greeting and Blessing
  • Dismissal

United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB), 2023.

We hope you've enjoyed this article, The Order of Mass. Have a blessed day! +

Download this PDF document below

PDF file size: 1 MB
Number of Pages: 2 / 4
Printable: Yes